March 21, 2017

So let’s pick up from where we left off. The note. I didn’t realize just how much of a butthead I was to the new roomies when I first woke up, so I didn’t have a chance to apologize to them face to face. I didn’t really get a picture till after we had already left, so I resolved to write down my apologies for them if they weren’t there when we got back from our day trip to Salzburg, Austria. So off we went.

Salzburg was beautiful. It’s a long day to do the tour from Munich, but absolutely worth it. I’m not going to lie, I thought our tour guide was subpar. He just seemed in a bad mood and wasn’t engaging. We mostly enjoyed the free time we got to have in the city. So let’s stick to the fun stuff. 

There is a bridge with love locks on it. And some really lovely buildings and plazas. There is also a very large church, which is standard for most European cities. 

Salzburg is where The Sound of Music is set and where some of it was filmed as well. We got to see some great spots that were used in the filming, but unfortunately because it’s winter, some things were closed off. Specifically, the hills that are alive with the sound of music, which Emily and I had so hoped to go sing and twirl on.

We tried to get up to them though which was a steep hike. Then we came to the gate closing it off which was disappointing, but just up higher the other way we found a spot with a great view of the city.

We went back down and proceeded to get a cheese pretzel to share before trying to find a place where I could get weiner schnitzel (Emily is vegetarian so she had käsespätzle). They didn’t have the proper veal one so I just had pork but it was still tasty. 

Salzburg is also the birthplace of Mozart. We saw the (outside of the) house he was born in and the (outside of the) house he lived in, which was cool. There are also these candies that have a terribly funny name. They’re called Mozart balls. It’s marzipan covered with a ton of chocolatey goodness. 

Emily and I both had to have one. I didn’t think I’d like it because I’m not a fan of marzipan, but it was much more chocolatey and very delicious! You have to go to the original shop that made them though, Fürst. If it is in red wrapping it’s not the right one. 

I only got the one. Here goes nothing!
Cheers!!
Surprised face because it was really good and not too almondy

We then chilled at an open air cafe in one of the plazas so that we could get some sweet pretzels just before our train home. I got the apple one and it was very tasty, though less appley than I had hoped and expected. 

Once we got back to the hostel we were exhausted so we went up to the room. The Italian girls were not there, so I wrote apology notes for all three of them before Emily and I headed down to the Wombar. 

We had pizza and drinks down there and met a couple of really nice British guys who we chatted with for a long while. When we got up to the room again for bed at about midnight, the girls were already asleep, but they had written a note back to me saying I was so sweet for apologizing and that they understood. We went to sleep and it was a nice end to a long day. 

Leave a Reply

